in
< New to Homeschooling? 
< Homeschooling Resources 
< About Us 
< Contact Us 

Homeschool Community

The site for all your home school needs

New.. HELP!

Last post 03-11-2009 8:21 PM by CourtneyWilliams. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-08-2009 2:14 PM

New.. HELP!

Ok, so I'm new to this site.  I'm new to homeschooling in that I am no longer living in Oregon with access to virtual schooling.  I'm going cold turkey, finding and buying curriculum from anywhere and everywhere as needed or wanted.  I use everything from books donated from local schools to workbooks found at the typical type stores such as Wal-Mart, Target, etc.  I use the internet for a host of resources from software to printables.

My daughter is coming to the end of her first grade year after having attended public school for a term of about 5 months or so.  I think that's how long we've been in Arkansas.  She is very advanced in most things.  She's having some issues with Math due to transition from one school to the next due to her moving from my mother's house where she stayed until our home was available and ready, to the school here in our town.  She reads on an adult level pretty much.  They have her evaluated at a third grade level at the public school.  However, she reads most adult materials laying around the house, from books to things on the internet.

Her major malfunction is boredom from being advanced and having to still cover all things from her grade level.  She can read anything, hates learning the phonics and basic sentence structure behind it.  She wants to get messy in art, which I do as well, but she isn't willing to learn concepts, etc.