in
< New to Homeschooling? 
< Homeschooling Resources 
< About Us 
< Contact Us 

Homeschool Community

The site for all your home school needs

I need help with my A Beka order

Last post 06-01-2008 9:36 PM by clovesgsb. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-01-2008 11:51 AM

I need help with my A Beka order

I'm completely new to hsing. I was going to wait for the hotel meeting, but it's not until the end of June (and there's free shipping for the month of April). I really just want to get into it with a curriculum instead of printing random worksheets off the internet (I will still do this b/c the worksheet I've been printing have been great, but I need a bit more structure right now). Since I have no idea what I'm doing, I think I might just buy the entire kit. I'm not confident enough to buy used and try to piece it all together. I have a 5 yo (will turn 5 this month) and a 6yo. My 6yo is advanced and my 5yo is about where he should be. A friend suggested that I buy grade one and two. That way I can use the grade one for my 5yo once I get him to that point with other resources and I can use the grade two for my dd. If she's lacking in anything then I have the grade one stuff for her to fall back on. I figure when I go to the used curriculum fair (April 12th), I could buy used for grade 3 stuff and maybe K5. I figure by the time dd is using the grade 3, I'll hopefully have a better idea of how to piece together my own curriculum (if I need to).

My main question is how important/useful are the Parent kits? I've heard some say you can do without until the higher grades. I don't mind buying them as hsing is completely new to me and I might need a guide, but I don't want to waste my money. If the child kits are fairly self-explanatory, then are the parent kits necessary?

• 04-03-2008 4:52 PM In reply to

Re: I need help with my A Beka order