in
< New to Homeschooling? 
< Homeschooling Resources 
< About Us 
< Contact Us 

Homeschool Community

The site for all your home school needs

Language Arts Please!!!

Last post 03-10-2008 10:35 AM by hsiamy. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-27-2008 3:18 PM

• tigris
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-27-2008
    • Posts 2

Language Arts Please!!!

I am new to homeschooling.  We are going to start in the fall.  Right now is just to hectic.  I have been researching irriculums and we have decided that we want to use an ecclectic program.  When we were in Michigan, the kids were in a charter school that used Saxon math and Open Court for Lanuage Arts.  We know we want to use Saxon math.  The kids really responded to it.  But Open Court Reading is really expensive.  What is another Languare Arts system that works?  What we liked about Open Court was it incorporated spelling, grammar, writing, nad comprehension all in one program.  It was all realted to the same story in the textbook. 

We are also trying to find a science and history system that works.  My 10 year old is in advanced classes and my 6 year old has to repeat first grade for reading difficulties.  My 3 year old is going to start with the preschool / kindergarden sytems.  With that range, they will all move at different paces, but we would like to try to stay with one system that isn't going to be expensive. 

Any help please???!!!

• 02-28-2008 12:30 PM In reply to

Re: Language Arts Please!!!