in
< New to Homeschooling? 
< Homeschooling Resources 
< About Us 
< Contact Us 

Homeschool Community

The site for all your home school needs

Considering homeschool for 1st grader

Last post 06-05-2009 11:48 AM by rlbenson. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-06-2008 10:15 AM

Considering homeschool for 1st grader

Hello, I am very new to homeschooling.  My son is in a private school for Kindergarten but my husband and I are considering homeschooling for the next school year ( public school is out of the question).  I am a little worried about pulling him away from the teaching enviroment he is used to, do you think it will hinder him in any way?  We love the school he is in but it is just getting too expensive.  What is the best curriculum to use?  Any suggestions and advise would be very much welome.  Thank you, Trisha

• 02-06-2008 12:07 PM In reply to

Re: Considering homeschool for 1st grader

I wouldn't worry about changing the teaching environment. Kindergarten is a completely different environment than Grade 1 anyway, so he's going to experience change one way or another.

What you should do is 1) connect with the parents of his best friends in Kindergarten and arrange regular play dates so he doesn't miss his buddies and 2) find a home school group or co-op in  your area. 

Once your social calendar is filled, what you need to focus on for Grade 1 is basic math and reading. There are tons of great,inexpensive math workbooks, manipulatives and games out there. I'd suggest choosing one main math curriculum (like Singapore, Saxon, MathUSee or BrightMinds), then hit the dollar store for supplementary materials.